AFL legend honoured: Australian Thinker of the Year 2008

REPOSTED AND UPDATED FOR AUSTRALIA DAY: In July SOT awards the Australian Thinker of the Year. The current recipient of the award is Kevin Sheedy. Since receiving the award he has published his biography Stand Your Ground and was the subject of ABC TV’s Australian Story The Big Picture Man

SOT: Melbourne: An icon of Australian Football League, and widely acknowledged as the most innovative and influential coach, has been honoured as the 2008 Australian Thinker of the Year.

Player and coach for more than 40 years, with the unsurpassed record of eight premierships and 1000 games under his belt, AFL Legend Kevin ‘Sheeds’ Sheedy is presented with the prestigious award in a special ceremony at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre (MCEC) in Melbourne on Tuesday 24 June.

The Thinker of the Year award was created in 2005 by the School of Thinking (SOT) in conjunction with the Melbourne Convention Exhibition Centre to recognise the contribution Australian thinkers make both nationally and globally.

Dr Michael Hewitt Gleeson, Principal of SOT says, ‘Kevin Sheedy is a strategic thinker, a person that pushes the boundaries and consistently thinks outside the square. Previous recipients of the Australian Thinker of the Year award have originated from the medical and scientific world but this year’s award acknowledges Kevin as one of the great sports thinkers in Australia.

‘A man who has been at the forefront of the evolution of football, from encouraging young Aboriginal people to play the game or ‘dance on the right stage’ as Kevin puts it, to promoting and supporting players from other countries,’ Michael says.

These days Sheedy spends his time as AFL Ambassador developing the idea of an AFL World Cup and delivering powerful motivational sessions on positive and lateral thinking to corporate staff and management. He is also the co-author of six books.

Kevin Sheedy AM joins past Thinker of the Year award recipients, Professor Michael Georgeff (2005), Professor German Spangenberg (2006), and Professor Jenny Graves (2007).


•• Click here for Network Ten News coverage of Sheedy’s award …


Leave your thought

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.