170421main_sts120launch1-web.jpg NASA October 23: Pamela A. Melroy, retired Ar Force Colonel, is commander of the STS-120 mission taking the Node 2 connecting module to the space station.

Melroy, a veteran shuttle pilot, is the second woman to command a shuttle.

Marine Corps Col. George D. Zamka will serve as pilot. The flight’s mission specialists will be Scott E. Parazynski, Army Col. Douglas H. Wheelock, Stephanie D. Wilson and Paolo A. Nespoli, a European Space Agency astronaut from Italy. Zamka, Wheelock and Nespoli will be making their first spaceflight.

Expedition 15/16 Flight Engineer Clayton Anderson will return to Earth from the space station aboard shuttle mission STS-120. That flight will carry his replacement, Daniel Tani, to the station. Tani will return on shuttle mission STS-122.

Visit NASA for more info and video of launch …

The SOT Feedback Logo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *